Home > Abuse, Child Abuse, Sexual Abuse > Pedophile gets home detention for sex with under-aged teens.

Pedophile gets home detention for sex with under-aged teens.

Update: Thanks to the commenter ‘X’ below, I have learned that the correct technical term for someone who engages in sexual activity with pubescent minors is Ephebophilia. Pedophilia is defined as engaging in sexual activity with prepubescent minors. No matter what you call it, it’s still a crime, and one deserving a much more punitive sentence than home detention.

Registered nurse Aroha Veronica Webber, 41, was sentenced to home detention after pleading guilty to six charges of unlawful sexual connection with three 15-year-old boys.

Ever hear of a male pedophile being sentenced to home detention? Seems to me what the judge is saying is it’s not really pedophilia when it’s a woman molesting under-aged boys.

Nurse sentenced for sex with teens.

A registered nurse who had sexual liaisons with three teenage boys has been sentenced to a year’s home detention.

Aroha Veronica Webber, 41, was sentenced in the Rotorua District Court today after earlier pleading guilty to six charges of unlawful sexual connection with the 15-year-olds.

Her counsel, Paul Mabey, QC, submitted if they had been a year older no carnal crime would have been committed. She had not sexually groomed the boys.

He outlined how they had gathered at Webber’s home when she was in a fragile state following her marriage breakdown. As a result of this she had “hit the booze” and the offending had occurred, Mr Mabey said.

She had allowed the boys into her home rather than see them wandering the streets.

Webber strenuously denied a claim in a victim impact statement that one of the boys had contracted a sexually transmitted disease from her.

“She is a registered nurse, she knows her own body’s health,” Mr Mabey submitted.

Judge James Weir also discounted the allegation. He noted her offending had been entirely out of character and had occurred when she was “dis-inhibited” by alcohol.

The Free Dictionary: though definition: in spite of the fact that.

  1. anonymous
    January 25, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    This sentence is an absolute Joke!
    We have been through hell and back again with forensic statements both videoed and written. Her story is an absolute Lie, here are some truths, just for the record! seeing I had to shut my mouth for nearly 2 years let me get some of this off my chest.On behalf of 1 of the victims THAT CAME FORWARD, he was only 14 when the incident occurred and was great friends with one of her sons who I use to care for on a regular basis.My relationship of 16 years had just failed but I still fed and kept her boy safe & off the streets while she was chasing after 20 year olds.Not only her boy but about 10 boys I became a second mummy to.She begged for my son to stay that dreaded night, I said NO 3 times before I gave in to the sick paedophile because she wanted to take them to the hot springs and it wasn’t like I didn’t know her, after all, she was a registered nurse, what danger does that signal to me?…so I thought!She supplied the alcohol to the minors, made sure she topped them up with alcohol despite her saying she was topped up and planned her crimes all at different times. How can her lawyer seriously sleep at night?We were promised closure, the only reason we persevered with the traumatic statements for so long!In saying that, I have no idea what sort of punishment would be satisfactory as this should never have happened. Her lawyer thinks there are no victims hurt or troubled by this, what a joke. Do you know what it is like to see your now 16 year old son crying all the time and rocking himself back and forth. The amount of disrespect he has for females now and the aggressiveness he possesses is none to describe in words.But he is my son, I will stick by him for however long it takes to help him straighten his head out.Denied sexually transmitting a disease, comm’on people, remember she was a nurse and had access to the meds. She initially denied the claims then at the last minute admitted guilt as she had already sought her story and planned it.She got away with it because she knew that 1 boy in particular was regularly in trouble with the law so she made out that she would rather house them than see them on the streets. Another tick by the judge.She’s a female, another tick. She’s a Morrison, another tick! a nurse, another tick! How ever are we suppose to get closure when it is quite clear to me that not ALL of the forensic statements were read by the judge or her lawyer for that matter. Maybe the 14 and 15 year old’s never had the right words to convince the judge of how they have been living after the event! Aroha Morrison Webber can write perfectly, she’s the adult.I hope I get this off my chest in the near future, saves me posting on every post I see.Also would be nice to be offered some kind of counselling for the victim and the parent. Just saying. I have no faith in our justice system right now and if it isn’t clear enough….there are a lot of people affected by this, we just had to shut our mouths for over a year that’s all.Well at least I can say, I don’t mind the weather overseas, 40degrees today. This is where we had to move by the way to try and help my son get over it!She’s lucky, she gets to stay home and in her own country with luxuries.Not fair sometimes is it?

    • January 25, 2012 at 8:19 pm

      Welcome anonymous, and thanks for sharing your experiences and providing a different viewpoint on an obviously highly sanitised article published by the Herald.

  2. X
    February 5, 2012 at 1:21 am

    As terrible as the act is, it doesn’t make her a pedophile. I would have though the owner of a blog on child abuse should have known that?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ephebophilia

    • February 5, 2012 at 10:03 am

      Please forgive my ignorance.

  3. April 3, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    justice should be serve!! so sexist and unjust!! women or man it shouldn’t matter..she committed a crime that deserves the same punishment a man would get!!

  4. naynay
    May 17, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    sexual abuse is desgusting, if anyone i knew ever did that i would never want to them again, and i would stay away from any offendors

  5. naynay
    May 17, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    anonymous :

    This sentence is an absolute Joke!
    We have been through hell and back again with forensic statements both videoed and written. Her story is an absolute Lie, here are some truths, just for the record! seeing I had to shut my mouth for nearly 2 years let me get some of this off my chest.On behalf of 1 of the victims THAT CAME FORWARD, he was only 14 when the incident occurred and was great friends with one of her sons who I use to care for on a regular basis.My relationship of 16 years had just failed but I still fed and kept her boy safe & off the streets while she was chasing after 20 year olds.Not only her boy but about 10 boys I became a second mummy to.She begged for my son to stay that dreaded night, I said NO 3 times before I gave in to the sick paedophile because she wanted to take them to the hot springs and it wasn’t like I didn’t know her, after all, she was a registered nurse, what danger does that signal to me?…so I thought!She supplied the alcohol to the minors, made sure she topped them up with alcohol despite her saying she was topped up and planned her crimes all at different times. How can her lawyer seriously sleep at night?We were promised closure, the only reason we persevered with the traumatic statements for so long!In saying that, I have no idea what sort of punishment would be satisfactory as this should never have happened. Her lawyer thinks there are no victims hurt or troubled by this, what a joke. Do you know what it is like to see your now 16 year old son crying all the time and rocking himself back and forth. The amount of disrespect he has for females now and the aggressiveness he possesses is none to describe in words.But he is my son, I will stick by him for however long it takes to help him straighten his head out.Denied sexually transmitting a disease, comm’on people, remember she was a nurse and had access to the meds. She initially denied the claims then at the last minute admitted guilt as she had already sought her story and planned it.She got away with it because she knew that 1 boy in particular was regularly in trouble with the law so she made out that she would rather house them than see them on the streets. Another tick by the judge.She’s a female, another tick. She’s a Morrison, another tick! a nurse, another tick! How ever are we suppose to get closure when it is quite clear to me that not ALL of the forensic statements were read by the judge or her lawyer for that matter. Maybe the 14 and 15 year old’s never had the right words to convince the judge of how they have been living after the event! Aroha Morrison Webber can write perfectly, she’s the adult.I hope I get this off my chest in the near future, saves me posting on every post I see.Also would be nice to be offered some kind of counselling for the victim and the parent. Just saying. I have no faith in our justice system right now and if it isn’t clear enough….there are a lot of people affected by this, we just had to shut our mouths for over a year that’s all.Well at least I can say, I don’t mind the weather overseas, 40degrees today. This is where we had to move by the way to try and help my son get over it!She’s lucky, she gets to stay home and in her own country with luxuries.Not fair sometimes is it?

    Holy shit dude, look at all of this

  6. Koia
    June 17, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    I feel aroha for you anonymous and for your boy, you can look all around you these days and see that society is falling over left right and centre and we never learn from our history of mistakes. Keep talking to your son and letting him know that women was in a position of power and influence and all adults should be made accountable when they manipulate and take advantage of children like he was, I hope your whanau mend and grow stronger together from here. Almost all teens at that age are experimental and curious, most of us clung to anyone older and willing to give us access to weed and alcohol at that age. Doesnt change the fact that a child is a child and an adult is an adult.
    It saddens me deeply that so many adults do not know how to communicate with children, so many do not even see the children in their family until they become older and are holding a bottle in their hand…. and still the cycle continues, use alcohol to makes us laugh and dance get confident and horny and use whomever is available to gratify unhealthy wants and selfish urges, then take your hangover out on your kids the next day, women and men go through this.
    I have spoken to my children from as soon as they could hold a conversation about noone has the right to hurt you or touch you so you feel ashamed, and if ever they find themselves in a place where someone is doing that, even if it is someone they love like mummy and daddy, you be brave and scream as loud as you can and say no and go to someone safe and tell them. I know there will be nothing that can stop a nasty sexual predator from there disgusting lust and the dark truth of it all is that this is very little deterent for some predators and its a big ask for tamariki to find their voice in that situation but when I did find mine I felt empowered and I want to give my children to have some awareness and kaha. In addition I go without, so they are not in that environment where their environment can be compromised, Dont bring your beers to my house this is my kids safe haven. I also dont worry about being popular with my kids – where you going?, whats the phone number? no you cant stay over till i met the parents etc etc, I worry about them being safe and knowing in me they can rely on.
    Why do adults hear that screaming but do nothing – see that abuse but say nothing???
    I speak from experience, as an adult Ive had neighbours, auntys and uncles say to me gee you had it rough bub always watching the little ones while mum got on the beers all the time cleaning up after there mess and listening to their arguing and carry on the bl**dy B***ch and laugh it off.
    As a kid thats just life i didnt choose it, it just how it is, its the dud package I got and I dont know of any other way so get on with it and make the most of it. Once I become an adult I thought to myself, neighbours, auntys and uncles why didnt you say something for me then, I was just a kid, what use is it telling me now after all the damage is done.
    I made a conscious decision that I will speak up for the vulnerable no matter what and no matter who it puts me up against, I am not going to turn a blind eye to something that is not right just to save face or my popularity.
    Ive gone off on a Tangent here but I am just so passionate and think all adults need to step up and be true role models to our children – be there for them, look into their eyes connect and tell them we are here for them.
    They are the only ones who love us truly for who we are the good bad and the ugly so why would we ever neglect or take for granted that treasure.
    I hope someone in Aotearoa can appreciate what I am saying – Our education system should evolve to cope with the social issues of today – how to say what you mean in a way that lets you get it off your chest without being offensive, how to listen and understand when someone is in need and how to respond with the things that are good to hear.
    To know about Anger and good ways to work it out
    To know about Lust and good ways to work it out
    etc etc
    I could truly go on
    Give up being STAUNCH NZ – korero and be true

  7. Let the TRUTH BE KNOWN
    September 23, 2012 at 12:41 am

    It amazes me honestly how quick people are to judge others. Have you heard the saying “people who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones” yes exactly. Feeling a little guilty now people? I am not here to justify the offense committed but to provide you with the truth. This was not a case of pedophilia (as stated above by anonymous?) and this was not a premeditated act or in any sense sexual molestation. This act was consensual between both parties and these boys admitted to this during the investigation. And lets be truthful people. Young boys being attracted to an older more mature women has been in existence forever. My beautiful aunty (and she is beautiful both inside and out) is also a victim here and i will stand by her and support her regardless.These boys were well and truly sexually experienced (? query sexually transmitted disease) and knew exactly what they were doing. They had been sexually active for a very long time and were’t shy in coming forward about it. These boys (i would actually class them as young men) who in my eyes were very mature for their age were not taken advantage of or manipulated in any way. They knew what they wanted and they went after it. As a person watching in from on the outside the only person i saw being preyed on or groomed was my aunty and why? because she was vulnerable from her marraige breakup and she was used and taken advantage of and that says it all. My aunty told nothing but the truth throughout the investigation and co-operated throughout and how her lawyer chooses to defend her case is purely how he interpreted it. If there was any misleading information that day in court it wasn’t from my aunty. My aunty admitted to the offenses and she did not once deny them even to the point of providing extra information to the investigation and not because she was bound by the law but because that is who she is honest and truthful. I’m sorry people but everybody f..ks up. Everybody!!! but is everyone so quick to admit to their faults and to own it and have the strength to go through what my aunty has been through? Makes you think doesn’t it. My aunty hasn’t had it easy but she has got to be one of the most heartiest women iv ever known. Those boys are not the only victims here (actually i would have to query if they are victims) so is my aunty and so are her sons. And my aunty she didn’t need no ticks (as stated by anonymous) This case was based on the true facts which at the end of the day prevailed. Much thanks to Paul Mabey for representing my aunty you were amazing and to K.W for putting her onto the best lawyer for this case

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

