Home > Abuse, Bad Boyfriend, Child Abuse, Killing, Neglect, Punishment, Stupid Parents > Mother says: 2-year old daughter was beaten to death by boyfriend.

Mother says: 2-year old daughter was beaten to death by boyfriend.

Norefjell Davis

A Northland woman accused of murdering her 2-year-old daughter has blamed her former partner, saying he carried out a series of horrific beatings on the child because he saw her as a burden. Article continues below:

Mum: Lover caused toddler’s death.

Norefjell Davis, 36, elected to give evidence in the High Court at Whangarei yesterday and said her then partner Jade Petersen beat Jacqui Davis with a wire coat hanger, punched, kicked and dipped her head in a basin filled with water. The Northern Advocate reports Davis claimed Mr Petersen told her Jacqui deserved the beatings and that they were carried out over a long period of time.

Davis said Jacqui was born at a healthy 9lb 7oz (4.28kg), but became weak, pale and unresponsive after being beaten by her then partner the night before her death at Starship Hospital on August 8, 2007. Davis claimed that once when Jacqui was sleeping in her cot, Mr Petersen – who she said was drunk at the time – pulled the child out and carried her like a handbag.

After the couple left Auckland and stayed with friends in Awanui, Davis said she saw Mr Petersen holding a pillow over Jacqui’s face and saw him punch her. On other occasions, she said he would cover the baby’s mouth with his hand. Not long after they moved to Miro Place in Kaitaia, Davis said he beat Jacqui with a wire coat hanger.

Mr Petersen would also find other things, such as drumsticks and a fire stoker, to beat her with. Davis claimed that other beatings included Mr Petersen standing on the child with both feet as well as putting her head in a basin filled with water. The night before Jacqui died, Davis said he shoved food in the child’s mouth using a spoon when she struggled to eat her dinner.

He also threw her to the ground and kicked her repeatedly, she said, telling the court she begged him to stop. Prior to and after Jacqui’s birth, Davis said she had herself suffered physical abuse from her partner. On cross-examination by Crown solicitor Mike Smith, she said her initial police statement – in which she admitted beating the child the day she died – was false.

“I am ashamed of the person I’ve become and that I covered up for the person I loved,” she said. Davis’ defence team is expected to call a pathologist and other witnesses today and tomorrow. The trial is expected to finish next week.

  1. July 7, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    What kind of woman does nothing while her boyfriend beats her 2yr daughter. I seem to read similar stories every week. This is everyones problem.

  2. July 15, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    this woman got 8 years jail ,with 4 year non parole….this is a problem for the whole country ,she will be out in 4 years ,and most probably have more children ….what a maggot ,sad excuse for a woman ,,,quite simply ,hang the bitch….

    • amber
      September 10, 2012 at 11:28 am

      i totally agree how can a person like this have kids, torture them, beat them, what about the wonderful people out there that can’t have kids and all they read and see is innocent babys out there just leaving this earth because of them nasty people

  3. July 15, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    The cold and callous way she abused poor little Jacqui throughout her short life deserves a much greater sentence IMO. 20 years should be the starting point for crimes against children, especially where death is the outcome. Thanks NZ judicial system, another ‘great’ result.

  4. September 20, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    This is what you call an animal. When they beat there prey the other animals stand around and watch. She is not worthy to be called a mother and yup i think the best way to get rid of people like this is to end their life liken the animal she is….. but not good to sell…

  5. Groden
    September 22, 2011 at 1:00 am

    I know what child abuse is like Im a survivor. I was beaten everyday from my adpoted mother. We were brought up on bread while she and the natural children had hot dinners. We drank water when we were lucky. We didnt play with other kids in the neighbourhood. We werent allowed outside the gate only on school days. If I was late home from school I was bent over a high stool and had to hold me feet up togeather and she would get a hoover pipe the long metal piece and for every minute I was late home from school I got a whack. So If I was 30 minutes late I would get whacked on both feet 30 times. I tried to commit suicide at a very young age and got caught and got such a hiding. I got scares on my head where she would throw me around the kitchen and I would hide she would throw me so hard my head hit the floor and my head was split open from getting caught under a loose piece of lino in our kitchen. We used to live in a shed and in winter had no blankets or pyjamas Once I had a matteress and used to curl up in it until she saw I was warm and made me sleep with the dog. I used to sleep on the back porch naked in a potatoe sack after getting a hiding with the jug cord for stealing some raro because we were thirsty. I was made to run a paper run in bare feet in summer hot pathes in winter in rain in the sun in summer school uniform.I was made to eat dog food when I spewed it up I woul dbe made to eat it again. I got such hidings at high school my mother exept me so I could go and clean homes for disabled people washing cleaning. I would sit in the car freezing on winter mornings. Then when I was old enough 14 I ran away because I threatened her and had enough and Social Welfare who was involved and concerned couldnt remove me because my mother used to say they wanted to put me in a mental asylum and I didnt have to go with them. So I used to lie saying things were getting better but they never did. I had scores and bruises on me. When I was in court a Judge Promised me that Social welfare will look after me now I was a state ward. I was put on a farm in the hawkes bay where I was sexually abused by my foster father kids at school knew and let me stay at thier homes I would run away twice and social welfare took me back again. at 15 I was signed onto the dole signed a paper saying I was no longer a state ward. I was left to live on the streets. I got a ride to auckland where I lived on the streets and after a couple of months Social welfare cut off my benefit at the age of 15 becuase I had no fixed abode so I was 15 sexually abused kicked out onto the street of auckland where I robbed people burgled stole & begged to live, I lived in a paper bin in Mt Eden by the mission church. And even at 46 yrs old I still remember everyday as if it was yesterday, I went to the police about the sexual abuse but was fobbed off ACC think becuase IM a guy I will “GET OVER IT” and be normal one day. So as a survivor you never get over it you never forget and it is damd hard to forgive but you have to I think.

    • Emma
      November 18, 2011 at 9:17 pm

      you are an inspiration for abuse survivors thanks for sharing your story.

    • Jazzyfay
      August 28, 2012 at 2:31 pm

      Really sad to read stories like this one i have a group who will be protesting against child abuse if you want to join and fight against these monsters let me know 🙂

    • amber
      September 10, 2012 at 11:36 am

      i can kind of relate to this, but not as bad i was abandoned by my mother no where to live no income, i was only 16, i really understand how you say “as a survivor you never get over it you never forget and its damn hard to forgive” thanks for sharing your story it makes me think my story isn’t so bad !

  6. Jazzyfay
    August 28, 2012 at 2:24 pm

    The pictures i want to see are of her partner so i can go hang him myself what a poor excuse of a human being as you can see in her photo she is still methed out on P, she deserves life in prison with no parole animals like her deserve to be in jail for life or executed on the chair if i had of came across her knowing what she was doing to her daughter i would of beat her to death NO DOUBT …

  7. amber
    September 10, 2012 at 11:24 am

    these articles make me think that we should stop the benefits to low lives like these, i can’t imagine doing this to a child.

  8. Bim
    September 15, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    I read that this woman had two other children I feel for them hopefully they are able to come out the other side of this and live a “normal” life.

  9. yv
    August 28, 2013 at 11:15 am

    well, if benefits were stopped they would just rob and hurt other innocent people…thought about that?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

